Promoting and protecting the health and safety of all Idahoans
Español    About Us    Contact Us  

Idaho Health Home Program

Medicaid will soon enhance its primary care case management system by integrating a full patient-centered medical home (PCMH) model of care. This is one of many efforts occurring across the nation to implement the PCMH model to improve clinical quality, enhance patients’ experience, and reduce overall healthcare costs.

Latest News

The Health Home State Plan Amendment was approved by the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. The Health Home program will begin Jan. 1, 2013. Interested clinics should begin enrollment as soon as possible.

Features of Care

In the Medicaid Health Home, each patient’s specific health needs are at the very center of care, which features:

  • Enhanced access to a clinical care team
  • Care that is comprehensive and well-coordinated between medical specialists, pharmacy services, other specialty services, and patients
  • Care that is evidence-based (effectiveness of a technique or strategy has been demonstrated in research findings)
  • Clinicians using decision support tools, measuring outcomes, and conducting quality improvement activities to meet patients' needs

All Healthy Connections providers who agree to meet the requirements of becoming a Health Home are eligible to participate. Practices will receive a per-member-per-month payment of $15.50 from Medicaid for eligible Medicaid participants to facilitate implementation of the requirements.

Sign up for Updates

Health Home Inquiry

Please complete the form below if you are considering becoming an Idaho Medicaid Health Home provider, would like additional information on the program, or would like information on the number of patients in your clinic that may be eligible for Health Home reimbursement.


Health Home Program Information

Healthy Connections participants who have serious and persistent mental health conditions, diabetes and asthma or diabetes or asthma with an additional risk factor, such as hypertension, dyslipidemia, coronary arterial disease, diseases of the respiratory system, obesity and tobacco use, are eligible.

Diagnosis Codes