Idaho School Immunization Requirements

Determining if Immunization
Requirements Are Met

Obtain the Child’s Immunization Record

Before children in preschool and grades K-12 may enter or transfer into public or private schools,
Idaho law requires that a valid immunization record be presented to school staff by the parent or
guardian at the time of registration and before attendance.

A valid immunization record is an electronic medical health record, an immunization registry
document, or a written immunization certificate confirmed (signed, stamped, or provided on official
letterhead) by a licensed health care professional which states the month, day, and year of each
immunization a child has received. A record with check marks instead of dates or one which states
only “up-to-date,” “all requirements met,” or “series complete” is inadequate and may not be
accepted. The record must show that all required vaccine doses have been received and minimum
ages and intervals have been met. Laboratory proof of immunity to a disease for which a vaccine is
required is valid and meets the requirement for that disease. For varicella, a statement by a
licensed health care professional indicating the child has had chickenpox disease meets the
requirement. Schools should refer parents without records to their regular doctor; if they have no
health care provider, they can be referred to the local health department.

Blue Idaho School Health Folder

The blue Idaho School Health Folder is a resource that schools may use to keep track of student
immunization records. For simplicity, in this Handbook, it is called the Blue Folder. Blue Folders
are available free of charge from the Idaho Immunization Program. Please submit your order
online using the online Resource Order Form. To locate the form, wisit
www.immunizeidahoschools.com and select Resource Order Form from the list of School Staff
Resources on the right-hand side of the screen.
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School Entry Immunization Requirements

The immunization requirements you must enforce are detailed below as well as on the enclosed
page titled Guide to the School Immunization Requirements. Each child must meet immunization
requirements outlined below at registration and before attendance. No child shall attend school
without proof of immunization status.

MINIMUM IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL ENTRY (preschool & K-12)

Immunization Requirement by Age Doses of Vaccines Required
Children born on or before September 1, 1999 (4) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)
must have a minimum of: (1) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)

(3) Polio

(3) Hepatitis B

Children born after September 1, 1999 through (5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)?
September 1, 2005 must have a minimum of: (2) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
(3) Polio

(3) Hepatitis B

Children born after September 1, 20051 must have | (5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)2
a minimum of: (2) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
(4) Polio3

(3) Hepatitis B

(2) Varicella (Chickenpox)*

(2) Hepatitis A

1. Preschool children need only be age-appropriately immunized with the required vaccines.

2. DTaP: The 5t dose is not necessary if the 4th dose was administered at age 4 years or older.

3. Polio: The 4t dose is not necessary if the 3t dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.
4. Varicella: History of chickenpox disease documented by a physician or licensed health care professional meets the requirement.

7t Grade Immunization Requirements

Effective with the 2011-2012 school year, in addition to the school entry requirements, a child must
receive the following immunizations prior to admission into the 7t grade: one dose of Tdap
booster, and one dose of Meningococcal vaccine. This requirement will be extended as the current
7th grade cohort advances to later grades. Therefore, this requirement will be extended to: 7"-8"
grade students in 2012-13, 7"-9" grade students in 2013-14, 7"-10" grade students in 2014-15, 7"-11"
grade students in 2015-16, and 7"-12" grade students in 2016-17.

7th GRADE IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS

Immunization Requirement by Grade Doses of Vaccines Required
Children admitted to 7t grade during or after the
2011-2012 school year must meet the following (1) Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis (Tdap)

minimum immunization requirements in addition to | (1) Meningococcal
school entry requirements:
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Immunization Minimum Ages and Intervals

First, look at the child’s date of birth to determine which set of immunization requirements apply.
Compare the child’s immunization dates to the requirements and determine if all requirements are
met. Since a child’s body needs an adequate amount of time between vaccine doses to develop
immunity, be sure to check the timing of doses to make sure that minimum ages and intervals were
met. Vaccine doses that are given at less than the minimum age or interval are not valid and must
be repeated to be valid.

ABBREVIATED CATCH-UP IMMUNIZATION SCHEDULE*

(for full version, visit www.immunizeidaho.com)

Minimum Minimum Interval Between Doses
Vaccine Age for
Dose1 [DoseltoDose2 Dose2toDose3 |Dose 3 toDose 4|Dose 4 to Dose 5
DTaP 6 wks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months 6 months!
Polio 6 wks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months?
MMR 12 mo 4 weeks
Hepatitis B Birth 4 weeks 8 weeks3
Varicella 12 mo 3 months
Hepatitis A 12 mo 6 months
1. DTaP: The 5t dose is not necessary if the 4t dose was administered at age 4 years or older.
2. Polio: The 4th dose is not necessary if the 3t dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.
3. Hep B: Minimum age for the 3 dose is 24 weeks and at least 16 weeks after first dose.
4. To enter the 7t grade, students are required to have one dose of Tdap and one dose of Meningococcal vaccine; because a child must

have received atleast one dose of each required vaccine to be eligible for conditional admission, Tdap and Meningococcal are not
included on the Idaho Conditional Admission to School form.

The 4-Day Grace Period

The U.S. Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) permits a 4-day grace period on
minimum ages and intervals. This time frame allows school authorities reviewing student records
to apply a 4-day grace period for a student who received doses of a vaccine too early. This means:
e Vaccine doses given up to (and including) 4 days before the minimum age or interval can be
counted as valid and will not have to be repeated;
e Doses given 5 days or earlier should not be counted as valid and should be repeated.

Exemptions to Immunization Requirements

Although the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare strongly encourages that children be
immunized, the ultimate decision to immunize or not is that of the parent or guardian. Idaho law
allows a parent/guardian to claim an exemption from immunization requirements for their child
for medical, religious, or personal reasons. All exemptions must be documented on the official
Idaho Exemption Form provided by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Immunization
Program (available at www.immunizeidahoschools.com). A medical exemption requires the
signature of a licensed physician and certification that the child has a medical condition which
prevents him or her from receiving one or more of the required vaccinations. The law does not
allow parents/guardians to claim an exemption because the shot record is lost or incomplete, or
because it is too much trouble to contact the physician or clinic and obtain a copy. Schools should
maintain an up-to-date list of students with exemptions so they can be excluded quickly if a case or
an outbreak of a vaccine-preventable disease occurs in the school.
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Conditional Admission to School

There are several situations in which children can be admitted conditionally. If children have
received at least one dose of each required vaccine and are currently are up-to-date (next doses are
not yet due), they may be admitted on the condition that they will receive still-needed doses as they
become due in the future. The school official must follow up by notifying parents, checking
documentation that the needed immunizations were received (usually by reviewing the child’s
updated immunization record or IRIS), and adding the new dates to the child’s Blue Folder.

In 2001, federal legislation, the McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Act, was passed to ensure
education protection for homeless children. One of the provisions is that local educational agencies
can immediately enroll homeless students. This means homeless students may be admitted
conditionally without the required immunization documentation. The homeless child liaison at the
school or school district must assist homeless children in obtaining immunizations or immunization
records.

Complete the Status of Requirements (Blue Folder)

1. ALL REQUIREMENTS MET: Requirements are met by either

up-to-date immunizations OR by obtaining a medical, STAITUSISF
religious or philosophical/personal exemption. If all required REQUIREMENTS
immunizations have been received, enter the date for ALL 1. ALL REQUIREMENTS MET:

REQUIREMENTS MET and check the box for “Adequately
Immunized.” Retain a copy of the immunization record in the
health folder. If the student has an exemption, enter the date
for ALL REQUIREMENTS MET and check box for the type of
exemption. Retain the completed exemption form in the
health folder.

(Inciude copy of immunization
record or completed exemption
form in heaith folder.)

Date: / /
O AdequatelyImmunized
OR Exemption claimedfor:

2. CONDITIONAL ADMISSION: If all requirements have not g r:f;;']s
been met, but the child has received at least one dose of each O PhilosophicaiPersonal
required vaccine, enter “Conditional Admission” date and
explain the process of completing the required immunizations ﬁﬁ;ﬂg:ﬂﬁtgﬁ:ﬂ;ﬁNCE
to the parent/guardian. Retain a copy of the completed formn health foider,)
Conditional Admission form in the health folder and follow-up Date: / /
with the parent/guardian until all requirements have been -
met. If immunizations are not received according to the NOT-IN-COMPLIANCE:
deadline(s) set in the Conditional Admission form, the child is Date: / /
then Not-in-Compliance and must be excluded from school. S

3. NOT-IN-COMPLIANCE: If all requirements have not been met, the child is Not-in-Compliance

and must be excluded from school. Enter the “Not-in-Compliance” date. If the student
subsequently completes all requirements, cross through the “Not-in-Compliance” date and refer
to the process for ALL REQUIREMENTS MET or CONDITIONAL ADMISSION.
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