2010-11 GUIDE TO THE IDAHO SCHOOL IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR

Grades K-12

ITdahno

Immunization
Program

REFERENCE Section 39-4801, Idaho Code: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Rules, IDAPA 16, Title 02,
Chapter 15 “Immunization Requirements for Idaho School Children.”

INSTRUCTIONS  Post this guide on a wall or desktop as a quick reference to help you determine whether children
seeking admission to your school meet Idaho’s school immunization requirements. If you have any
guestions, contact the Idaho Immunization Program or visit www.immunizeidaho.com.

IMMUNIZATION To enter or transfer into public, private, or parochial elementary and secondary schools (grades

REQUIREMENTS

kindergarten through 12), children must have immunizations as outlined below at registration and
before attendance. No child shall attend school without proof of immunization status.

SUMMARY OF IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS

T e Child born after Child born on or before
September 1, 1999 September 1, 1999
Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR) 2 doses 1 dose
Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP) 5 doses* 4 doses
Polio 3 doses 3 doses
Hepatitis B 3 doses 3 doses

* 4 doses meet requirement if at least one dose was given on or after the 4" birthday.

CONDITIONAL Students who lack one or more required vaccine doses that are not currently due may be admitted
ADMISSION on the condition that they receive the remaining dose(s) when due, according to the catch-up
schedule below. If the minimum time interval between doses has passed and the needed dose is not
received, the child must be excluded until the next immunization is obtained.
Vaccine Minimum Age Minimum Interval Between Doses
for Dose 1 Dose 1to Dose 2 | Dose 2 to Dose 3 | Dose 3 to Dose 4 | Dose 4 to Dose 5
MMR 12 months 4 weeks
DTaP 6 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months 6 months
Polio 6 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months
Hepatitis B Birth 4 weeks 8 weeks*
* Minimum age 24 weeks and at least 16 weeks after dose 1
EXEMPTIONS Idaho law allows a parent/guardian to claim an exemption from immunization requirements for their

child based on religious or personal beliefs. A medical exemption will be granted for those children
who present a letter from their physician stating that the child has a medical condition preventing
them from receiving required vaccinations. The law does not allow parents/guardians to claim an
exemption because the shot record is lost or incomplete, or because it is too much trouble to contact
the physician or clinic and obtain a copy. For children with an exemption, a sighed exemption form
(available through the Idaho Immunization Program) or physician letter must be on file for the child
(Section 39-4802, Idaho Code). Schools should maintain an up-to-date list of pupils with exemptions,
so they can be excluded quickly if an outbreak occurs.
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