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CHECKLIST FOR A RESIDENTIAL ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY LICENSE (RALF) 
Use this checklist to track what you send to the Licensing & Certification.  This form is for your use only and need not be 
returned. Additional information and guidelines are available at www.assistedliving.dhw.idaho.gov   The application process is 
to be completed within 6 months of the date the application is initially submitted. 
Note:  If your proposed building is currently in operation as an existing licensed residential assisted living facility, you will 

need to complete the application process and receive your license prior to executing the purchase agreement.   
 

REQUIREMENTS 
Date 

Completed 
APPLICATION  

STEP 1 Thoroughly read and review IDAPA 16.03.22, Residential Care or Assisted Living Facilities in 
Idaho and Idaho Code Title 39, Chapter 33, Idaho Residential Care or Assisted Living Act. 

 

STEP 2 Contact Licensing and Certification at 208-364-1962 to obtain a login and then Complete the 
Application on the portal.  All individuals with 10% ownership must be disclosed.  Use 
Application Addendum A if there is more than one business entity involved in the ownership 
chain. 

 

STEP 3 
                     

Submit the $500 fee for the building evaluation.  Make your check payable to “Licensing & 
Certification – DHW.”  DO NOT SEND CASH!! 

 

STEP 4 
 

Change of Ownership and Conversions: Send us a detailed floor plan for your facility, including 
all room measurements.   
New Construction, Additions and Additional Buildings: Send a plan submittal form with signed 
and stamped construction plans by an Idaho licensed Architect or Engineer (1 set only).  Plan 
review can take up to 60-90 days. Caution is advised in proceeding with construction before plans 
are reviewed and approved.  Deferred submittal of shop drawings for Sprinkler and Fire Alarm are 
allowed but must be submitted and approved.  
Incomplete application packages will not be processed. 

 

STEP 5 Send us a copy of the administrator’s Residential Care Administrator License and Criminal 
History and Background check (see requirements IDAPA 16.03.22.009.02). 

 

STEP 6 Send us a copy of the Articles of Organization AND Certificate of Assumed Business Name from 
the office of the Secretary of State. 

 

STEP 7 Send us a copy of the Lease Agreement, Purchase Agreement, or Warranty Deed.  If changing 
ownership of an existing licensed facility, DO NOT sign the lease/closing documents until the 
date the Department issues you a license. 

 
 

POLICIES AND PROCEDURES       Allow 90 days for review 
STEP 8 Complete the Policy and Procedure checklist, ensuring your policies meet each requirement and 

then upload both the completed checklist and a complete set of your policies and procedures to the 
portal Note on the checklist the page number where each requirement is addressed in your 
policies and procedures. 

 

BUILDING EVALUATION   Give 90 days notice for the building evaluation with at least 45 days to schedule the evaluation 
STEP 9 PLAN REVIEW - NEW CONSTRUCTION, ADDITIONS and ADDITIONAL 

BUILDINGS: 
New Construction plan review period can be 60-90 days. Although not precluded by rule, we 
strongly caution against construction beginning prior to plan review.  Site visits may be conducted 
if travel is cost effective, but not required, nor guaranteed.  Make necessary modifications as 
identified in plan review; ensure deferred submittals are sent in. 
BUILDING EVALUATION-CHANGES OF OWNERSHIP AND CONVERSIONS 
Staff will schedule and conduct a building evaluation and provide an evaluation letter (maximum 
30 days from exit).  Make any necessary corrections as directed by the building evaluation letter; 
notify us of the completion in writing.   
Allow at least  45 days to schedule the evaluation  

 

 
STEP 10 Send us the completed Application, Addendum A and Addendum B with original signatures.  

FINAL BUILDING EVALUATION/RELEASE OF BUILDING   Allow at least 60-90 days to schedule 
STEP 11 Provide evidence of corrections made.  A final evaluation will be scheduled for the next cost 

effective trip to that area which could be 60-90 days.  After verification of all items having been 
corrected, your building will be released for continuation of the licensing process.  Note: a license 
must be issued to the facility before residents may be admitted. 
 

 

LICENSE     Allow at least 5 working days after completion of steps 1-11 for application review and issuance of license 
 

http://www.assistedliving.dhw.idaho.gov/

